Actualites Electroniques - Your daily dose of electronic music  
Actualites Electroniques

You will find in this category each week, a review on a top CD album or vinyl album which is breaking the news. All styles are on the “menu” of this category: minimal, house, electro, techno or even trance in some cases.

The topic will be supplemented by other albums following the latest electronic music news.

Kompakt Compilation - Total 12

Long time fans of Kompakt should be pleased to see a mainstay of our long term family members primarily present on Total 12. Twelve... the omnipresent mystique number. There are 12 stars on Europe's banner, 12 apostles, 12 titans, 12 knights of the Round Table, Schoenberg's twelve-tone music and yes, our beloved compilation series is entering its twelfth round! After a jolly and colourful first semester of 2011, filled with albums by heavyweight acts like Rainbow Arabia, Whomadewho, GusGus and John Tejada, Kompakt has decided to focus mainly on the core members of the family.

TRACKLISTING TOTAL KOMPAKT 12 [Buy the compilation]

For the first time in ages, all five founding members of Kompakt are on board of this single CD and double vinyl. But first things first... This album will be released on August the 15th.

The opening slot belongs to our Belgian friend Kolombo, who was the first man to answer Actualites Electroniques interview here. His brilliant Howard Jones-sampled slowmotion disco hit "Waiting For" is already a staple on advanced late night floors. Same goes for Michael Mayer's remix of Whomadewho's tearjerking "Every Minute Alone". Italy's whiz kids Tale of Us are currently causing a stir with their mighty Life and Death remix for Gusgus' summer anthem "Over" that we reviewed some weeks ago. Superpitcher presents his first new material since his full length "Kilimanjaro" and yes, it's as wonderful as the title "White Lightening" suggests.

Michael Mayer increases the energy level and freak factor with his slightly psychotic "That's What I Told Sanchez". &Gui Boratto' monstrous "The Drill" brings Schaffel techno back to its cradle. We want to take this opportunity to clarify that Matias Aguayo actually still has a nicotine habit whereas - according to the song - Rebolledo is the non-smoker. "I Don't Smoke" is bonafide summer hit and definitely too good to miss out on this comp. Jörg Burger reactivated his dancefloor alter ego as The Modernist and delivers one of his trademark, streamlined groovers that perfectly catches the energy of his current live shows.

Coma throw in their much lauded brand of "fine trance" and prepare the grounds for Total 12's deeper finale. Like with his Kafkatrax efforts, Wolfgang Voigt continues his research of the human voice, this time in shape of an opera singer that dives into an enchanted ambient techno track. "Frieden" ("Peace") couldn't be more aptly titled. Reinhard Voigt ends his self-chosen recording hiatus and returns with a deep piece of urban techno that leaves us hungry for more. Last but not least, Burger/Voigt introduce their new drone-heavy live project Mohn that works somewhere between shoe gaze and trippy down tempo techno. "Tiefental" is equally designed for dancing purposes or opium dens.

At the end, vinyl version features an exclusive track from Jürgen Paape and alternative version from Superpitcher!!!


Written by Dj Aroy
Article en Francais       
  Latest album reviews
Heller and Farley - Tears (A Deep House Compilation)
Gui Boratto - Abaporu
Apollonia - Tour a tour
Noah Pred - Third culture
Discodeine - Swimmer
Buddhattitude Himalaya - Compilation
Kolsch - 1977
The Djoon Experience - Mixed by Joaquin Claussell and Black Coffee
20 years of Kompakt - The best of (Mixed by Aroy)
Boss Axis - Bridge a divide
  Leave a comment

Pseudo :

Your comment on this article :

Each comment will be verified before being online.

  Comments on Kompakt Compilation - Total 12
      Autre langue   
      Follow us

Facebook Actualites Electroniques
Twitter Actualites Electroniques
Ustream Actualites Electroniques
Myspace Actualites Electroniques
Flux Rss Actualites Electroniques
Flux Rss Actualites Electroniques
  RSS Actualite musique electronique
      Music player
      Useful links
Juno Records DJ Chart - Fatboy SlimJuno Records DJ Chart - Tiesto
Latest progressive house DJ Chart at Juno Download 4Juno Records DJ Chart - Digitalism
Sennheiser HD 25-II
      Search an article
      Style icon   
      Chart by Dj Aroy

Download the mix    
ASAF AVIDAN - Maybe you are
KLANGKUENSTLER - Die elektronische Welt der Amélie
SOKOOL - Take care
BEN PEARCE - What I might do
KLANGKUENSTLER - Wiesenballett
MIKE GILL - Let You Go
LANA DEL REY - Summertime sadness